Wednesday Q&A: Jonathan Hunter, Partner, DM Hall Surveyors

 

First job: Office Junior

First car: Red Vauxhall Astra Mark 3

What did the start of your professional life look like: Photocopying drawings pretty much eight hours per day and making the odd cup of coffee/tea!

Best advice received: I have been very fortunate to work under many great individuals throughout my career to date. I would say ‘lead by example’, ‘have an opinion’ and ‘use humour’ are the ones that stick with me.

What do you like most about your job: No two properties are the same therefore no two days are the same. I also enjoy meeting new people, dealing with our large client base and being outdoors for large portions of the working day.

And least: The cold dark days.

Biggest professional achievement: Being elected a Partner of DM Hall LLP at the age of 34.

The repair most worth doing to your property is: For me, it has to be the roof and associated rainwater goods. These elements are often neglected from my experience.

How do you see the current crisis panning out for your sector: It is early days yet and as at the time of writing, the Scottish Government have only started relaxing certain lockdown measures as we enter ‘phase 1’. However, even with the Scottish housing market being put into hibernation since the end of March 2020, there is evidence of an appetite from both sellers and buyers to get going once the restrictions are lifted. In addition, the Coronavirus Job Retention scheme and other Government measures have prevented mass unemployment. The recovery will depend on the time of year the economy has fully awakened from hibernation and the security of jobs once the Coronavirus Job Retention scheme ends. These factors will determine whether we have a V-shaped, U-shaped or L-shaped recovery. The economy is starting to open and I think it is critical to recovery that it is fully open before the end of the above mentioned schemes. I am optimistic of a V-shaped recovery!

How do you switch off: I struggle with this however, I do like cycling, walking, I play in a brass band (Newtongrange Silver Band) and I play the guitar.

What do you listen to in the car: Absolute 80’s or Gary Moore.

Which social media sites do you like/prefer: I use Facebook for social and Linkedin for business.

If you weren’t in your current job, what would you be doing: Musician.

Favourite holiday destination: Corfu or Florida.

What makes you happy: Success, spending time with my wife, our three kids, our crazy cocker spaniel and friends.

 

2020-06-03T13:59:01+00:00