Wednesday Q&A: Graham Forbes, Partner, DM Hall Surveyors

First job: Apprentice Surveyor with Shepherds in Kirkcaldy.

First car: A white Volvo 340. Not my choice!!! Inherited from my predecessor.

What did the start of your professional life look like: As an apprentice I got all the run around jobs. Pick up keys, drop off reports to clients,(pre email!!!) arranging surveys. Making tea and picking up the boss’s lunch. Lots of which I still do today. It was a great grounding.

Best advice received: Never ask somebody to do something that you wouldn’t do yourself.

What do you like most about your job: I’m fortunate to live and work in one of the most scenic parts of the country. Getting out to see clients and the wide range of properties in the Highlands and Islands is always a highlight . I have a great team in Inverness and catching up with them on a daily basis and the general buzz in the office is always great.

And least: When things don’t work, be it the car, laptop or phone. All things we need to do our day to day job.

Biggest professional achievement: There are various highlights throughout my professional career, which at the time are always seen as the biggest. Gaining my Chartered status. Becoming a Partner with D M Hall and most latterly taking on the day to day running of the Inverness office since the retirement of John Albiston.

The repair most worth doing to your property is:……..Look after the exterior!! It amazes me how many people spend a fortune on the interior but neglect the exterior. Gutters and downpipes being probably the biggest culprit.

How do you see the current crisis panning out for your sector: I think it is too difficult to give an opinion for the whole country. I think the Highlands could potentially see an increase in activity. The Corona Virus, on a whole, has been worse in the built up urban areas. I can foresee a lot of people making a lifestyle choice to move into the more rural locations. Working from home during the pandemic has shown you don’t need to be in the office every day to do your job.

How do you switch off: I enjoy cycling. I fly fish and tie my own salmon flies. I enjoy walking our dogs with my wife Nicky.

What do you listen to in the car: Mostly the radio. I am a lover of a random one hit wonder especially from the 80’s and 90’s. I also always try to catch Pop Master with Ken Bruce on Radio 2 in the mornings.

Which social media sites so you like/prefer: I’m not a massive social media user. I do use Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn.

If you weren’t in your current job, what would you be doing: I did want to join the police when at school but back when there were height restrictions I was too small. I like the idea of being a ghillie on the Ness, Spey or Thurso. Maybe something to contemplate when I retire.

Favourite holiday destination: Italy, especially Florence or Lake Garda.

What makes you happy: Spending time with my family, friends and dogs.

 

2020-05-20T09:14:27+00:00